For more than three years, Melbourne-based Black Pony Express have been honing their sound and gathering a loyal following around Australia’s premier indie venues and through extensive interstate tours.

Recorded over 10 months in 2005, Love in a Cold Place is the band’s first full-length release. It contains 10 crafted tracks of melodramatic Australian pop, with influences as diverse as Augie March, Tom Waits, Sparklehorse and Pink Floyd. Members include Justin Cusack (vocals/guitar), Greg Bukshteyn (guitar/organ), Lilith Lane (piano/vocals), Cliffy Davis (bass), Katrina Morgan (violin) and Alan “The Mallet” Murphy (drums).

Engineered and co-produced by Simon Grounds (Underground Lovers, Snout, Laura Jean, Bird Blobs, Hope Addicts etc), Love in a Cold Place sits comfortably alongside such classic Australian bands as The Triffids and The Go-Betweens and yet is unique enough to stand as a great release in its own right.

Featuring artists such as Julitha Ryan (Silver Ray/Hope Addicts), Rae Howell, Caz Ganell (Laura/Clinkerfield), Simon Grounds (Shower Scene from Psycho) as well as the children of blues/rock institution Blue Ruin, Love in a Cold Place is both melancholy and whimsical.

Described by Mess and Noise as a “mature and affecting debut”, the album has been released world wide by Basque label BANG! Records (The Drones, Beasts of Bourbon, Spencer P. Jones).

In May 2007 Black Pony Express head to the UK and Europe for an extensive tour.